Tags & Registration
Click for Online Renewal(s): ► GoRenew.com
NOW OFFER 2 YEAR RENEWALS
Florida uses a metal license plate with an alpha numeric system, meaning there are combinations of letters and numbers used for identification. The license plate is displayed on the rear of the vehicle with the exception of certain commercial vehicles. The plate is issued to the owner for ten years. The owner will receive a new plate (with new numbers and letters) during the tenth year.
Vehicles are registered on a staggered basis according to the registered owner's birth month. The registration expires at midnight on the owner's birthday. The exceptions to this are company owned and short term lease vehicles, which expire in June. Long term lease vehicles are staggered throughout the calendar year, and truck-tractors, semi-trailers, and trucks weighing over 5,000 pounds are renewed in December. Nine passenger and over vehicles used for hire and mobile homes are also renewed in December. All vehicles are licensed according to weight. Travel trailers and mobile homes are licensed according to length.
Driver License may be renewed 18 months prior to date of expiration.
Examples: If you Driver License expires 01-15-2011 you may renew beginning 07-15-2009.
If your Driver License expires 02-15-2011 you may renew beginning 08-15-2009.
Click here for A detailed list of all fee increases
COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE
“Commercial motor vehicle” is defined by section 320.01(26), Florida Statutes, as any vehicle which is not owned or operated by a governmental entity, which uses special fuel or motor fuel on the public highways, and which has a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, or has three or more axles regardless of weight, or is used in combination when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.
MINIMUM COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS:
The minimum required amounts of coverage for the combined bodily liability insurance and property damage liability insurance, as provided in section 627.7415, Florida Statutes.
A. $50,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, but less than 35,000 pounds.
B. $100,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 35,000 pounds or more, hut less than 44,000 pounds.
C. $300,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 44,000 pounds or more.
D. All commercial motor vehicles subject to regulations of the United States department of Transportation, Title 49 C.F.R. part 387, subpart A, for all for-hire interstate carriers or all carriers transporting hazardous materials with vehicles having a gross vehicle weight of 10,000 pounds or more, the minimum level is $750,000 CSL.
HEAVY HIGHWAY USE TAX
OUR OFFICE WILL NO LONGER PROCESS 1099'S (ORGINALS OR RENEWALS)
VEHICLES SUBJECT TO HVUT:
A. Truck Tractors with a combined gross vehicle weight of 55,000 pounds or more.
B. Heavy trucks with a gross vehicle weight of 55,000 pounds or more.
PROOF OF FILING, PAYMENT OR EXEMPTION:
A. ONE of the following is required with the Heavy Vehicle Use Tax Report when it is submitted:
1. A copy of internal Revenue Service (IRS) Schedule 1, form 2290. Stamped received by IRS.
2. A photocopy of a stamped received IRS Schedule 1, form 2290, and a copy of proof of payment (i.e. credit/debit card receipt, front/back of cancelled check or other receipt for payment) used to pay the tax.
3. A photocopy of a stamped received IRS Schedule 1, Part II, form 2290, for vehicles 55,000 pounds or more hut traveling less than 5,000 miles (an example of this could be a tool), an agriculture vehicle traveling less than 7,500 miles, or for vehicles that arc qualified as blood collector vehicles.
4. The original or a copy of the electronically filed form 2290, IRS Schedule I. The electronic copy will show a slightly visible watermark with the wording
NOTE: DO NOT ACCEPT A FORM 2290 WHERE THE VIN NUMBERS OR CATEGORY APPEARS TO BE ALTERED.