Sharon W. Jordan
Suwannee County Tax Collector


Sharon W. Jordan
Suwannee County Tax Collector

Saltwater Fishing

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) is the administrative office that regulates saltwater fishing. The Florida Marine Patrol is the law enforcement agency that is charged with protecting the valuable marine resources of the State of Florida.

All anglers, who fish in saltwater, require a saltwater fishing license. This includes each person fishing from a pleasure craft, on a sandbar, or any other land mass accessible by boat or by swimming through water deeper that four feet.

Underwater divers who take or attempt to take marine fish must also obtain a license. Anyone who operates a non-commercial fishing vessel for hire must purchase a saltwater license. This recreational license will exempt passengers from having to obtain individual licenses.

Other Exemptions:

You don't have to obtain a salt water fishing license if: 

  1. You are a Florida resident fishing in saltwater from land or from a structure fixed to land.
  2. You are fishing from a pier which has been issued a pier saltwater license.
  3. Anyone who holds valid commercial saltwater products licenses other than the owner, operator, or custodian of a vessel for which a saltwater fishing license is required. Only one person aboard a vessel to which a commercial saltwater products license has been issued may claim exemption at any given time.

Saltwater fishing licenses are valid for 12 months from the date of issuance. A five-year saltwater fishing license and a lifetime license are also available to Florida residents. Non-residents can apply for a 3 day or 7 day permit for saltwater fishing.

Saltwater Fishing

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) is the administrative office that regulates saltwater fishing. The Florida Marine Patrol is the law enforcement agency that is charged with protecting the valuable marine resources of the State of Florida.

All anglers, who fish in saltwater, require a saltwater fishing license. This includes each person fishing from a pleasure craft, on a sandbar, or any other land mass accessible by boat or by swimming through water deeper that four feet.

Underwater divers who take or attempt to take marine fish must also obtain a license. Anyone who operates a non-commercial fishing vessel for hire must purchase a saltwater license. This recreational license will exempt passengers from having to obtain individual licenses.

Other Exemptions:

You don't have to obtain a salt water fishing license if: 

  1. You are a Florida resident fishing in saltwater from land or from a structure fixed to land.
  2. You are fishing from a pier which has been issued a pier saltwater license.
  3. Anyone who holds valid commercial saltwater products licenses other than the owner, operator, or custodian of a vessel for which a saltwater fishing license is required. Only one person aboard a vessel to which a commercial saltwater products license has been issued may claim exemption at any given time.

Saltwater fishing licenses are valid for 12 months from the date of issuance. A five-year saltwater fishing license and a lifetime license are also available to Florida residents. Non-residents can apply for a 3 day or 7 day permit for saltwater fishing.

Hunting & Fishing

Hunting & Fishing